May 22, 2005
-
Yesterday’s Cubs-Sox party was lots of fun, too bad the Cubs lost. I
actually could not sleep yesterday morning and got out of bed about
8:45ish, which is very early for me on a weekend. It was ok, though,
because I had a lot to do. I exercised and had breakfast. I did some
cleaning up around the house and headed to the bank and Ace Hardware
after that to get our propane tank filled. Really, there is nothing to
exciting about any of this, so I will just skip to the game.I actually started drinking about 12:30, shortly after the first pitch.
Mark was the first one to arrive, but the Johnsons and Scooty showed up
shortly thereafter. We Cub fans were actually out numbered, and in our
own house! Everything was going great until the 8th inning, when the
Sox scored 4 runs. Now, I know a lot of Cub fans were complaining about
Zambrano being taken out, but I think with his recent arm injury and
the way things have gone for the Cubs pitchers, it was the right move
to make. In fact, Baker left Prior in today to throw 126 pitches, which
I was pissed about. With Prior’s history, you can’t be to careful.After the game, we played beanbags. We had a Cubs-Sox match-up, Mark
and I played Scooty and Heather. We took out our Cub fan frustration
out on them, making quick work of them. Come to think of it, I think
this was the first time Mark and I were partners in beanbags. We won
another game and then lost the next one to Brian and Randy (who had
never played before).By this time, I was plenty drunk. Mark challenged me to a basketball
game one on one. Bad idea. I couldn’t hit shit. And speaking of
hitting, Mark accidently clocked me in the eye and now I’ve got a red
mark underneath my eye. I think it was actually my glasses that did the
damage. Still, my face did not look nearly as bad as David’s. He fell
off this play spinny thing we have in the backyard and wound up with
quite a scrape on his face. Poor little guy.The ribs John made were…………..eh. Too fatty and sorta tough. The
last time he made them, they turned out really really good, but I think
that this was bad because of the quality of the meat. As for the
portobellos, they were AMAZING. Very tasty.We also all bet on the Preakness. We each took a horse and bet $1,
winner take all. Heather’s horse won, but to be honest, I don’t think
everybody paid her, and by the time the race was over, we had all
forgotten about it.My yard sorta sucks. We could not seem to find a good place to play
beanbags. We tried playing them in FOUR different places in the yard, a
couple of different places were too slanted, and one place there was a
telephone wire hanging too low which we kept hitting. Once it got dark,
we actually placed them on the driveway. The only problem, was that we
have a motion light in the backyard that would not stay on, even though
we were in constant motion. The weird part, was that it would stay on
for about 10 seconds and shut off, or it would stay on for about 5
minutes and then shut off. Really, no consistantcy at all.At this point, it was………10:30? I really don’t know. I was pretty
damn drunk. I think this was the most I had ever drank, of course, it
was over the course of about 10 hours, but it was still a lot,
especially for me. I went in the house and passed out on the couch.
Everybody left about 12:30, and I half woke up as they left. I could
hear them, but really had a hard time opening my eyes. And for some
reason, my ass was wet. It turns out, Dave had poured water on me. He
and I seem to have this thing, where if one of us passes out, we pour
beer on the victim. John told me he was all set to pour beer on me, but
John stopped him and told him to pour water instead. Still, I could not
figure out what happened to me, I have no recollection of him doing
this at all, although I did assume he had done something. Anywho,
shortly after they left, did manage to get up and go into my bed.
Looking back on it, I don’t know how I managed this. I kept stumbling
and walking into things. I normally have a hard time sleeping when I’m
drunk, but I had to problem falling asleep. However, I did wake up at
about 6AM with a POUNDING headache. I got up, still in a half drunk
state, and stumbled into the kitchen to take some ibproferin. The water
was actually very refreshing. Normally, I try to drink water when I
drink to lessen the hangover, but I didn’t drink any this time.The rest of the morning was a rough sleep, although I did manage to
sleep until about 10ish. I was still feeling awful, but I had a mess to
clean up (no, it wasn’t vomit) so I had some work to do. Lots of
dishes. Nothing too exciting here, just skip ahead a few sentances.You have skipped ahead. You actually didn’t miss anything, but damn you
for skipping ahead anyway. I’m still feeling pretty crappy, so thats
all for now.