May 25, 2005

  • Today at work, we had a pie day. They were giving us free slices of pie
    from Baker’s Square. I really wanted blueberry, but they didn’t have
    any, so I settled for the next best thing………cherry! The rest of
    the day, I had Warrant’s “Cherry Pie” stuck in my head. I know its
    awful, and a very sexist song, but I used to love it when I was in high
    school. Its nostalgic (spelling please). Man, what an awful, awful
    song, though. Just sit and read the lyrics sometime.

    They also had a raffle. They gave away lots of free stuff. I, of
    course, did not win a damn thing. My company always has raffles when we
    do things, and I don’t ever win shit. Yet, this one girl who has only
    been there a couple of months has won things twice. They were even
    giving away pies. I did not win, but happened to be in the right place
    (the breakroom) at the right time (4 in the PM) to get a free cherry
    pie. All I did was ask if they had any slices of pie left. They offered
    me a cherry pie. I accepted.

    I went to see Crash with Josh tonight. The movie was good. It really
    makes you think. Its frustrating, though. Race relations in this
    country………..no, in this world………are sad. I know we have
    come a long, long way, and although the movie does over-do some of it
    for dramatic effect, it still rings true and we still need to work on
    race relations. Its hard, because that is my big cause. The big thing I
    care about and what bothers me. I just wish more people thought the way
    I do (damn, that sounds really self-centered and stuck up), because we
    can sure use it. All people of all races need to stop seeing color and
    instead “picture the world without any color.” The biggest problem is
    still between blacks and whites. Too many whites believe that racism
    doesn’t exist. Too many blacks play the race card too often and see
    race in everything. There needs to be a middle ground. Racism is
    obvious sometimes. In other cases, it does not exist. Blacks need to
    understand that accusing somebody of racism, when it is not racism, can
    do more harm than they can ever imagine. On the other hand, when whites
    ignore racism, it complicates things and makes black lose faith in
    whites.

    Still, I don’t want to be one of those people that talks about it and
    offers no solutions. The way to lessen racism, is for people to learn
    more about each other. I feel, the root of all racism is fear. Fear of
    the unknown. If everybody just took the time to know and learn about
    others, they will see that we are not too different, and that we are
    actually a lot like each other. Others have a bad experience with other
    races, and it sours them. They have to allow themselves to realize that
    it just a couple of bad apples, which each race has. If they don’t get
    over that, they have kids and pass their racist views and thoughts onto
    a whole new generation, and that is how the seeds of racism are
    planted. Even so, if you are the child of a racist, ultimately, its up
    to you to overcome those thoughts and views and judge each people based
    on their character and not their color, religion, sexual orientation,
    age, or sex.

    I just saw Reggie Miller on Letterman. Now, I used to HATE reggie back
    in the Bulls glory days. But, since then, he has actually grown on me
    to the point where he might be one of my all time favs. What can I say,
    the guy is a class act, and his kind will be missed by the NBA.

    I bit the inside of my bottom lip Sunday, and of course, what do you
    think happens, I keep biting the same area over and over. Fucking teeth!

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *