July 12, 2009
-
He's Not THAT Good!
Friday night I was about 2 hours and 11 minutes into the disappointing The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button when I got a call from my friend Dave bugging me to go to the casino with him and our other friend Jt. So, like a moron I stopped the movie and went to pick them up. I know what you are thinking "wow, Mike is a complete loser who does whatever his friends ask", but before you think that keep in mind that I do love to gamble, the casino we were going to was that had been closed for the past 4 months due to a fire and I love hanging out with them. As is often the case when I'm with them two, half of the fun is the car trip. On the way there they were complaining that I wouldn't put the air conditioning on as it was a very humid night, so humid that my already dirty windshield was fogging up. So Jt picked up a stuffed Mike (my friend got me a stuff animal of Mike from Monster's Inc which I keep in the car) and cleaned the inside of my windshield while I was driving. On the way home, Dave held his fat hands over the AC control panel so I couldn't turn it off, meanwhile I threatened to let go of the wheel until he removed his hands. It was the same kinda goofy shit we have been doing for years but not in the past 5 years because Jt and I hadn't been friends. Long story, maybe I'll tell it someday.
As for the casino...................don't ask.
Yesterday was the annual beanbag tournament that my brother's in laws host every year. We wound up having 17 teams. The teams are chosen randomly with a deck of cards. I was paired up with my good friend Heather. The way it works is you play a best 2 of 3 against the other team. Whoever wins goes to the next round, and the loser goes to the loser's bracket but is not done as it is double elimination. In the first round, we played Jt and a cute guy who was friends with my sister in law's sister. I threw against him while Heather threw against Jt. The first game I sucked ass and Jt's partner was good and we lost. The second game, I threw very well but Jt was on fire and we lost. As soon as the game was over I told Heather that "Jt is not THAT good". Well, it turns out I was wrong. They won the whole damn thing! As for Heather and I, we played Mark's mother in law and this other lady Kelly in the second round. Honestly, I thought we would win. And the first game we were rolling 19-6 (first one to 21 wins) but just couldn't finish them off. We wound up losing as Mark mother in law got on fire. And the second game, while it wasn't even close. We lost and were done. I was so disappointed. I've always considered myself a halfway decent beanbag player. Although I didn't expect to win the whole damn thing, I thought we would at least advance, as Heather is pretty good too and she and I have a habit of playing well together. What sucks is that now I have to wait an entire year until the next tournament.
After the tournament I went to my cousin's 40th birthday party. It turns out my cousin's brother (yes, I know he is my cousin too) is a complete nut when it comes to politics. He tries to claim he is not a Republican or Democrat but its quite obvious he is a pretty staunch hard core Republican. While I can talk politics in a civil and fair manner, he was just getting very passionate and angry about the whole thing. I told him he should watch The Daily Show and Bill Maher but he told me that they are not relevant because they are comedians. I told him that he needs to find some sort of humor in it all but he said that things are just so critical and so awful and Obama, Pelosi and Reid are doing so much damage thats very serious. I don't know if I should feel sorry for him or what. I mean, even when Bush was in office and helping to put us in this situation, I was outraged and furious but still found lots of humor in it.
Comments (1)
Why dont you like to use the AC in your car? I dont think we ever turn ours off, especially in Texas. weird
Comments are closed.